Skip to main content

Managing Certificate Revocation Lists (CRLs) in Windows

Publish CRL to LDAP store:

C:\> certutil -dspublish .\IssuingCA-DC1.crl serverName

Validate certificate's Authority Information Access (AIA), Certificate Revocation List (CRL), Online Certificate Status Protocol (OCSP) status:

C:\>certutil -URL certname.cer

This command launches below UI that can be used to check the following:

Note: the certificate in question is revoked

Authority Information Access (AIA) - this extension specify location where CA certificates are located ( used for building certification path):

CRL accessibility based on CRL Distribution Point (CDP) extension:

Revocation status using OCSP:

OCSP URL is specified in AIA extension:

Download CRL (creates file "Blob0_1_0.crl" in working directory):

C:\> certutil-split  -URL

View CRL publication related registry entries:

C:\> certutil -getreg ca\CRLPublicationURLs

Verify revocation and validity of a specific certificate:

C:\> certutil -f -urlfetch -verify .\compcert.cer

View CRL cached by CryptoAPI:

Windows CryptoAPI caches CRL for performance reasons.

C:\> certutil -urlcache CRL

Update local CRL cache / View CRL:

Command below forces update of CRL cache.


Popular posts from this blog

x.509 Certificates - Critical vs non-critical extensions

Extensions are used to associate additional information with the user or the key.  Each certificate extension has three attributes - extnID, critical, extnValue extnID - Extension ID - an OID that specifies the format and definitions of the extension critical - Critical flag - Boolean value extnValue - Extension value  Criticality flag specifies whether the information in an extension is important. If an application doesn't recognize the extension marked as critical, the certificate cannot be accepted. If an extension is not marked as critical (critical value False) it can be ignored by an application. In Windows, critical extensions are marked with a yellow exclamation mark,  View certificate extensions using OpenSSL: # openssl x509 -inform pem -in cert.pem -text -noout (output abbreviated)         X509v3 extensions:             X509v3 Key Usage: critical                 Digital Signature, Key Encipherment             X509v3 Subject Key Identifier

DNS response and error types

In this post we explore common DNS response codes. We will cover the following responses: NOERROR SERVFAIL NXDOMAIN NODATA REFUSED Throughout article we’ll refer to the following RFCs: RFC 1034 - DOMAIN NAMES - CONCEPTS AND FACILITIES RFC 2308 - Negative Caching of DNS Queries (DNS NCACHE) RFC 2136 - Dynamic Updates in the Domain Name System (DNS UPDATE) RFC 8914 - Extended DNS Errors Response Codes - RCODEs The DNS RCODES are best defined in RFC2316 .  They signify what type of response was sent by the server. “RCODE   Response code - this four bit field is undefined in requests and set in responses.”   The table below shows the summary of the currently defined RCODEs. Mnemonic Val Description NOERROR 0 No error condition.

DNS blocking in Indonesia

DNS based censorship and domain blocking in Indonesia is very inconsistent among ISPs. There’s a government mandated black list which the ISPs operating in the country should enforce. However, Indonesia lacks centralised internet infrastructure and has many separate ISPs. In addition, the Indonesian government granted ISPs the authority to block content at their own discretion. All of this leads to a very inconsistent DNS blocking in Indonesia. Official DNS domain blacklist in Indonesia The Government mandated DNS blacklist is published in a redacted form and can be downloaded here: . This is where the blocked domains get redirected to. We can search the database and check if a domain is blocked. In the screenshot below we can see that a popular cryptocurrency exchange is blocked (Ada) and that is not (Tidak Ada) - thanks to Google Translate. Examples of blocked DNS queries dig @ ;; global options: +cmd ;; Got